top of page
Writer's pictureZoe

Steel-cut Oatmeal

Most reliable, practical, and amazing breakfast EVER. (probably) Two ingredients (water & oatmeal) require exactly how much brain power I have in the morning, and if you let it cook while you get ready, your oatmeal is done right at the perfect time. You will never go back to the microwave quick cook oats again (which, from experience, maybe makes things complicated at those hotel continental breakfasts) but it’s worth it.

 

Ingredients:

  • (Oatmeal)

  • 2 tbps quick cook steel cut oats (Trader Joe’s is pretty great)

  • 1/2 cup filtered water

  • Pinch of salt

  • Drizzle of maple syrup (or honey or brown sugar)

  • Cinnamon


  • (Toppings)

  • Banana

  • Strawberries

  • Frozen blueberries

  • Almond butter

  • Granola (I’m pretty sure I’ve tried all the brands at Target by now, and I think “Mom’s Best Oat & Honey Granola” from Sprouts is pretty great

*My go-to’s

 

Directions:

(Oatmeal) Add the steel cut oats and water into a pot. Put it on high heat and cook for about 8 minutes, or until all the oats are hydrated and it has a thick, but still fluid consistency.


Sprinkle a pinch of salt and a drizzle of maple syrup. Take it off the heat


(Toppings) Pour it into a bowl, add whichever toppings you’d like and serve!


 

NOTES:

  • Unfortunately, I can’t make this at college because I don’t have a stove but one time I saw that Trader Joe’s sold frozen blocks of steel cut oatmeal that you can microwave, so I’m definitely plan to try that in the future.

  • I took this picture a while ago, when I added frozen chocolate covered strawberries from Trader Joe’s, which was definitely a great decision.

Source Recipe: 2.5 years of experience [also thanks Kaitlyn, I think you showed me steel-cut oatmeal too :) ]

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Kaitlyn Bailey
Kaitlyn Bailey
May 01, 2020

So many great ideas! I would just like to add that dates are amazing too :)

Like
bottom of page