top of page
Writer's pictureZoe

Onion-Crusted Tri Tip

Are you looking for a dish that is perfect for a party and looks super fancy, but is incredibly simple to make? This tri tip is exactly that and a whole lot more.


My Aunt on my dad’s side of the family made this for our family dinner once, and once I learned the recipe, this tri tip has become a staple that I make for all of my family get togethers on my mom’s side!

 

Ingredients:

  • (Tri tip)

  • 3 lb tri tip (this is usually a good amount for my family of 6)

  • Olive oil

  • 2 1/2 packages of Lipton Onion Soup Mix


(Yep, that’s literally it.)

  • (Sides)

  • Baby potatoes, olive oil, 2 packages of Lipton Onion Soup Mix

  • Salad of your choice

 

Directions:

(Prep) Take the tri tip out of the refrigerator and let it come to room temp.


Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Heat a large pan on high heat with a drizzle of olive oil.


Prepare a baking tray by lining it with aluminum foil and make sure you have a baking rack.*


Coat the tri tip with olive oil. Sprinkle the Lipton Onion Soup Mix and coat the tri tip (it’s helpful to have a friend/ sister help you)


(Cook) Once the pan is hot, lay the tri tip (the side with more fat facing down) on the pan. Let it sear for a minute and then flip the tri tip and sear the other side for a minute longer. (This happens pretty fast, and make sure the topping doesn’t start to burn)


They the tri-tip back on the pan lined with a rack and place it in the oven. Cook for 10-15 minutes per pound. For a 3 lb tri tip, 36 minutes worked well this time for most of the tri tip to be medium well.


Once the tri tip is down, take it out of the oven and let it rest for 10-15 minutes. Slice into thin medallions and serve!


(Sides) Today, I covered baby potatoes in the same Lipton seasoning and baked them in an air fryer, along with a side salad.



 

NOTES:

  • *I only recently got a baking rack, but for years I used to use the tray from our toaster oven. I think it mainly helps with air circulation/ even cooking, but it should be okay if you don’t have one. I would probably flip the tri tip halfway through if that’s the case.

  • The cooking time for the tri tip is kind of a guessing game (or you could use a meat thermometer). I usually just take it out sometime within the range of 10-15 minutes per pound, when I think it's done. Mainly, make sure to not overcook the thinnest part of the tri tip, and the natural variation in doneness usually means everyone has part of it cooked to their preference!



Source Recipe: My Auntie Kim (recipe) + The Food Charlatan (for cooking times)

29 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Jade Chen
Jade Chen
May 05, 2020

I will share this with my friends so they can learn how to make a proper steak.

Like
bottom of page