top of page
Writer's pictureZoe

Muesli

Imagine you are at college and wake up at 7:30am for an 8am class that is a solid 10 min walk away from your dorm ( in order to get a passable amount of sleep :’)) and discover a PROBLEM: you have A plethora of ~free dining hall bananas + A tiny dorm fridge that only ever reliably has a carton of almond milk + no access to a stove (so oatmeal isn’t an option) + Like 5 minutes to make breakfast.


SOLUTION: Muesli!


--if you couldn’t relate to that story, then you can switch all the “you are’s” to “I am’s” because that was literally me all the time--


Muesli is a fancy cereal with oats, nuts, and dried fruit (fun fact - originally from Switzerland) that is just as quick and convenient as traditional cereal but so much more nutritious and filling because of the oats!


I discovered muesli last year when prepping for a camping trip (thanks Kaitlyn! :D) and it has been a pantry staple ever since because it requires no prep time and can keep you full all the way until lunch time.


The recipe is absurdly simple, but I thought I’d add it to the blog to enlighten anyone who hasn’t heard of muesli before. Enjoy!

 

Ingredients:

  • Muesli

  • Almond milk

  • Cinnamon

  • *Bananas

  • *Frozen blueberries

  • + any other fruit

  • *Almond butter

 

Directions:

Pour however much muesli you’d like into a bowl. Add enough almond milk to cover the muesli.


Let it sit for a few minutes for a more oatmeal-y texture, but this step isn’t necessary.


Add your toppings of choice (banana, frozen blueberries, strawberries, granola, almond butter, etc.).


Sprinkle cinnamon on top and enjoy!

 

 

NOTES:

  • I’ve actually found it pretty difficult to find muesli at the store (ex: not at Vons and couldn’t find it at Trader Joes but that might just be me), but I usually get it at Whole Foods and I believe Ralphs has it as well. I've only tried the Bob's Red Mill brand, but my favorite is the "Old Country Style" -> picture below

  • As for toppings, my personal favorites are bananas and frozen blueberries and although I almost always add almond butter to oatmeal, I usually only add it to muesli if I know lunch is a long time away.

  • *Random side note: muesli is also a really quiet food if you care about not bothering your roommates in the morning, haha


Source Recipe: Me!

*One side effect of summer break is having glorious amounts of free time, and I found two cool YouTube channels full of awesome vegan recipes (Mina Rome & Pick Up Limes)! They also both have some homemade muesli recipes I plan to try in the future.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page